So Close! Carb problem????

Socopunk

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Here's the LowDown:

'73 TX650-K&N airpods, stock headers, Shorty Mufflers. Main Jet 135, Pilots stock, Needle at 1 slot below middle. Mixture screw 1 turn out from seated. Everything else is stock.

Here's the Problem:

Bike starts on 1 or 2 kicks with choke on. Flip off the choke and it idles nicely at 1100rpm. If left alone will idle for a good 10mins and then dies. If after warm it is given throttle, from idle --> 1/2 throttle pulls great, at 1/2 --> 3/4 throttle backfires like a madman, loudly. Don't want to throw a piston so I don't try for 3/4 --> Full Throttle.

So whats the deal? I'm a newb here, but am slowly learning.

If anyone can help that would be Greatly Appreciated.

James

well the 1/2-3/4 throttle is controlled mainly by your needle and if it is backfiring it is too lean. Try raising your needles and see what happens. And I assume your using the stock 38s??

Motor dies after 10 minutes..............could be a plugged vent in the gas cap. When the motor quits, lift the gas cap just slightly and have your ear down next to the cap. If you hear a hissing as the air rushes into the tank, you need to clear the vent.

Ignition coils may work fine when cold, but as they heat up in 10 minutes the voltage could be dropping off. Old coils are bad news.

Check all the basics, valves, cam, plugs, points. Those tolerances change a bit when it warms up. Make sure you've eliminated everything else like non-fresh gas (over two weeks old it gets iffy), fuel strainer screens or filters, float levels, etc. Are the plug wires old? Old plug cables can leak and short to ground during throttle up.