Springer set up. PLEASE HELP!!!!

kiser1991

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
my name is justin and i am new to this sight and i wanted to see if i could get help on my build i am doing. I have a 1983 xs650 and i am wanting to put a dna springer front end on my bike. Let me say i have spent hours and hours researching forms how to and what to use. I am aware of tc bros and im not going that route. out of all the posts i have looked at there is alot of confussion on what berrings to use. So if there is anyone out there that can tell me if i am corrwct or wrong in what to.buy i would be thankful. So what i have come up with is i need
1. Race bearing kit from mikes xs-part num. 28-2009
2. Timken bearing set for hd glide or springer front end. Mr luckys.com pt# 142b comes in a set
3. All balls steering stem kit from amazon pt#22-1015
I think I need these to there dust shield for hd glide or springer mr luckys.com pt#142a
So thats what I need to know before I order. If someone could tell me if im right or wrong please do so. Thanks!

There are many good instructions on how to install a springer on a XS650 on here. So i don't know what else to tell you. I have installed over 15 on XS650 and you can by the bearings anywhere they are 1" for the DNA same as a trailer bearing. Buy the bearing kit for a XS650 and use the races with the 1" bearings and the only two hard things you are going to have to do is cut about1/16" off bottom of neck tube so bearing is flush and on the DNA i take the allen out of the stem and drill a indent so it sits in deeper so the stem cannot move. THATS IT all the rest is installation of parts. Here are a couple i have done and if you do a sportster front end its the same. White frame bike has 2000 sportster front end same stem size and 1" bearings.
GOOD LUCK WITH your Build

Attachments

• frame&springer.jpg
    frame&springer.jpg
    85.4 KB · Views: 420
  • xs650 w springer.jpg
    xs650 w springer.jpg
    81.3 KB · Views: 2,862
  • th_kutz.jpg