Sprocket Gearing

79josh81

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Ok, so I’m working out the details on some sprocket gearing to potentially run a jackshaft with a wide tire build. On my current bike, I have a 17 tooth front sprocket and a 31 tooth rear overdrive sprocket. The gearing ratio of that combination is 1.82.

I would like the bike I’m building to have around the same gear ratio but I’ll be using a Harley style wheel on the rear with a Harley 46 tooth rear sprocket. In order to get around the same gear ratio, according to the numbers, the front sprocket would have to be a 24 tooth sprocket which would give me a gear ratio of 1.91.

My question is, if I run a chain from the 17 tooth front sprocket to a 17 tooth sprocket on the jackshaft, and then run a 24 tooth sprocket on the jackshaft going to the 46 tooth rear tire sprocket, will that give me a gear ratio of 1.91 to the rear tire? It sounds right in my head but I’m not an engineer so I don’t know if I’m missing something here. Here’s a “not to scale” pic to make it easier to understand.

B3DACAC6-EA05-4462-A9B7-AAEF5EC8D16C.jpeg

Use the tooth counts of your sprockets S1, S2, S3, S4.
SprocketRatios.jpg

Then, the ratio you're looking for is:

(S2 * S4) / (S1 * S3)

In your particular case,
With S1=17, S2=17, S3=24, S4=43
(17 * 46) / (17 * 24) = 1.917

Or, the alternate:

(S2 / S1) * (S4 / S3)

(17 / 17) * (46 / 24) = 1.917

Use the tooth counts of your sprockets S1, S2, S3, S4.
View attachment 133941

Then, the ratio you're looking for is:

(S2 * S4) / (S1 * S3)

In your particular case,
With S1=17, S2=17, S3=24, S4=43
(17 * 46) / (17 * 24) = 1.917

Or, the alternate:

(S2 / S1) * (S4 / S3)

(17 / 17) * (46 / 24) = 1.917