That elusive weak spark

dmq136

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I have had my 1981 XS650/H for four seasons now and I think it is one of the best bikes ever make. As an engineering student, I marvel at the simplicity of the bike and am amazed at the way people can modify it (this site is a real showcase for talented people !) and I love the wealth of knowledge that is here.

Anyway, I have been searching for some time to figure out how to diagnose a weak/intermittent spark on the left side. This problem parked my bike all last season (not only am are I slow to figure it out, my time and funds limited – like most everyone).
Okay, what have I done so far:
  1. Thought that it was the carbs, perhaps dirty, flooding, whatever. Cleaned, re-cleaned, and re-cleaned again, then installed inline gas filter. Also replaced air filters (no change, left plug kept fouling out after a mile or so of riding) :confused:
  2. Replaced coil, lead wires, spark plug caps, and 2 sets of plugs (still no success) :(
  3. Apparently at some time (long before me) the battery breather hose was not connected and the TCI, rectifier, and wire harness connectors were all in pretty bad shape (replaced all connectors, corroded wires, etc. tried to diagnose the TCI, but didn’t really know how) with still no change. :banghead:
  4. Replaced battery (as mine was going on four years…) – no help there either. :mad:
Now, where do I go from here? I gather that it is time to electrically check the TCI, rectifier, and pickups? Perhaps follow the wires from beginning to end (wiring diagrams here are great!). I am at a loss of how to do any of this or if I can do any of this…

Any other suggestions or insights?

P6061741%5B15%5D.jpg

P6061742%5B8%5D.jpg

Last edited: