The father/son special

tbird

Newb
Reaction score
Ok, so I am finally starting this thread. First I would like to thank all you for the info and entertainment that is provided on this site:thumbsup:. I could not have and probably would not have taken this endeavor on had it not been for this site. I have never built a bike before, but have a small background in hot rods and was a mechanic for several years. Been trolling this site for over a year now, finally made a purchase last Oct and have been building it with my dad since. Had a little delay from Ardcore(which is not unheard of:doh:) and been putting in weekends when I can. My goal was to have it running I the spring(didn't happen), now I just want to ride the damn thing:bike:. I'll put pics up when I can...
this is what i started with, it was would start but was dumping fuel out of the left carb:D

Attachments

• IMG_0557.jpg
    IMG_0557.jpg
    230.2 KB · Views: 338
ok, so after spending to money on jets, needles and needle jets from Mikes(I will be running open exh/intake) and rebuild kits to fix the gas pouring out of the carb problem; i still had a running problem. I then chased my tail for quite some time, finally figured out it was a defective petcock. Once i bypassed that i found that the PO had been trying to "tune" around the petcock by screwing the idle screw all the way in:laugh:
sorry no pics of me pulling my hair out:shrug:

if you are reading this that means you clicked bobber and you read that I had ordered a hardtail from Ardcore. Yes, we are hardtailing this and I already can hear Fredintoon grumbling about it:D that being said lets get to cuttin:thumbsup: while waiting for the hardtail to arrive we started with removing the stock neck gussets

Attachments

• IMG_0732.jpg
    IMG_0732.jpg
    224 KB · Views: 235
  • IMG_0733.jpg
    IMG_0733.jpg
    200.5 KB · Views: 249