turn signal single wire replacement with non original two wire indicators

hogfest50

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi anyone had this dilemma i'm no electrician have swapped over stuff like for like .
done a bit of soldering , i want to replace my original 1980 xs650 turn signal indicators for newer custom two wire replacements .
I can see that the wiring connects to the loom but where does the second wire connect to .
I can also see there is another wire that comes back to earth on each turn signal inside either side the head lamp, and on each side of the frame by each rear turn signal.
am i destined to keep to the original or just single wire replacements ?

When you say two wire they have running and turn indicator elements? or is the second wire just the ground for the indicator?
I kinda doubt you are allowed to have REAR amber running lights (we can't in the USA) if so ignore the running light part in the back.
Conversely you can't have red running lights in front. I see a bunch of red/amber turn signals on fleabay now.

Last edited:
Hi hogfest, I recently installed these front/rear turn sigs from Dime City. Just hook your one wire to the power going to loom. If you don't have a 2nd existing ground wire from old signals, create a new wire and ground it. Then plug your new ground wire into the 2nd connector on new turn sigs and you should be good to go. On my bike, there was an existing power and ground wire for each of the rear turn sigs. Inside the headlight bucket I made new ground wires and used ring terminals to attach to the turn signal bolts that secure the sigs to the inside of bucket.

I still have ALOT ALOT of learning to do but I think this would solve your problem.

Last edited:
When you say two wire they have running and turn indicator elements? or is the second wire just the ground for the indicator?
I kinda doubt you are allowed to have REAR amber running lights (we can't in the USA) if so ignore the running light part in the back.