Weak charging system

zybercom

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello All! Newbie here on the forums with a charging system question. I have a basically original 1980 xs650g (Special II) with a little over 10k miles on it. Recently I put it back on the road after several years storage, and it seems to run great.
Here's the problem. When my battery is fully charged my turn signals function as expected. After riding an hour or so they will light up but won't flash unless I rev the engine up close to 3000 rpm. I put the charger on overnight and I'm back in business, temporarily. I'm guessing some component in the charging system has weakened. I didn't notice a problem when before storing it. I will put a voltmeter on the battery to see what I get when revving but I'm not sure what to do next.
I really would appreciate some help. Thanks.

IMG_0191.jpg

Search the site for "Curly's charging guide". Not sure of the spelling of Curley. First thing to do would be to check if you have rotor brushes. Next thing would be to check voltage at the battery while revved to 3K rpm. Should be > 14V but < 15.

The brushes are considered a wear item on these bikes. Once they wear too short, charging output drops off or stops completely. They're one of the first checks you do if charging issues crop up because it's pretty easy and relatively cheap to fix. It could also be as simple as the slip rings the brushes bear against being too dirty and in need of a cleaning.

Thanks guys for your responses. Here's what I found so far:
I did not seem to get a response from the "slap test"
The battery connections are clean.
I did find a green wire had a spot that was rubbed through and touching metal, I covered that with electrical tape.
IMG_0205edit.jpg
The voltage at the battery is just over 13 volts even when revving.
While checking the battery voltage I noticed the fuse cover was very hot, it is the 20A main fuse.
IMG_0203edit.jpg