What did you weld or what do you need to weld today...

westonboege

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I have been welding for a little over 10 years. My first welding project was a set of intercooler hard pipes for a turbo Supra project back in college. They turned out terrible. I ended up having to cut all the pipes apart and have a friend help me get all the pinholes out.

I figured with all the fabricating going on at this site it might be cool to have kind of a thread to get welding tips or show off what you welded today.

I just picked up a new tig welder on monday and got it all wired in. Its first job was to make a set of stainless 304 tube to mild steel flange independent intake manifolds for the xs to put up in my store...

I learn more every day...

IMG_1621.jpg

I just picked up a new tig welder on monday and got it all wired in. Its first job was to make a set of stainless 304 tube to mild steel flange independent intake manifolds for the xs to put up in my store...

Hi westonboege,
ooh, that's pretty. TIG rules! I seethe with envy.
Mr. Blobby only has a 180Amp Lincoln buzzbox and an el-cheapo oxy-acetylene kit.
I've stick-welded several sidecar attachments and a utility trailer over the years
and I have always held with the amateur welder's mantra:-
Length replaces Strength
Which is probably why none of my horrible welds have failed in service.
One time Mr. Cheap tried welding two hot water tank heads together to make an air compressor tank.
What I learned that day was to covet the skills of those who could make a weld that didn't leak air.

...ooh, that's pretty. TIG rules! I seethe with envy...

I totally agree with Mr. Blobby! THAT's the way to do it!

Started welding in the mid-60s, gas, splatterbox, mig. But, TIG is on my bucket list.

Good idea for a thread. Looking forward to some interesting weld pics.

They call me........MudDauber...

Welding to hold air is no joke! Haha... my charge pipe resembled a fish tank air stone when i tested it.