Winter project: upgrading time! (R6 forks and more...)

Bjorn

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Since I enjoy reading about all the XS650 modifications as much as the next guy, I plan on sharing some of my winter upgrade-stories here.

The list is long, but I want to start with the '00 R6 fork conversion. I have been running a Ducati rotor with calliper set-up for almost ten years now, and i'm ready for a next step. I red some people installed the R6 forks successfully, I like the look of the conventional forks and decided to go for it.

this is what the bike looked like this season
IMG_20190215_163601100.jpg

last summer I picked up these 2000 Yamaha R6 front forks:
IMG_20190605_202507469.jpg

Right now i'm trying to understand what needs to be done. It seems like there are quite a lot of variables to take into consideration (triple clamp offset, trail, fork length , steering stem dimensions, bearings you name it).

I've measured the offset difference and the original XS triple clamps are 47mm offset, and the R6 are 40mm. The R6 forks are also about 15mm shorter so i'm guessing the trail is not changing a whole lot since the two seem to counter each other (guestimate hehe). The plan is to reuse the lower R6 triple clamp and machine a new top clamp.

To be continued...

Attachments

• IMG_20190605_202219560.jpg
    IMG_20190605_202219560.jpg
    208.2 KB · Views: 287
I assume both triples (stock and R6) have the fork tubes parallell with the steering stem. 7 mm less offset in the R6 triples give you around 5 mm more trail, if I got my trigonometry right. That is not a huge change, and, as you say, will to some degree be balanced out by the shorter fork.

You say the R6 forks are 15 mm shorter than the XS forks. If making a new top triple, keep in mind that a flat triple will pull the forks a bit up, compared to the stock XS top triple.