wire loom connector identification xs1b

Triggerton III

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi all

I am trying to identify the white connectors on a replacement wire loom from Mikes XS. can you help?
see below.
24-6570_wire-harness-main-xs1_01.jpg

https://www.mikesxs.net/yamaha-xs650-wire-harness-70-71-oem-256-82590-oem-256-82590-30-00.html

at first glance they look like pin connectors inside but they are a blade type.

the ones on the loom, are they the male connector?

If you haven't guessed its my first time with bike electrics.

Thanks Guys

Hi Triggerton and welcome to the forum.
The go to person on here for electrics for me is usually Jim.
But others are just as capable, 5T and Skull often assist.
anyhow anything you need can be found searching the various threads.
No doubt someone will give you a direct answer..

Not me however as I have a butchered Frankenstein loom which I’m replacing with a full Motogadget system. I’m a novice too!

Well I don't have an xs1 but I can try helping. First of all, do you have a wiring diagram. If not, print one out. Some of the nomenclature is: the connectors are the white plastic bits on the ends of the loom. The pins are within the connectors. The use of the terms male and female when it comes to connectors.. that should be obvious and I won't get into explanation. I recommend that you sit down with the wiring diagram and your loom and identify all the connectors first. The wiring diagram will have a color code... R for red, R/W would indicate red with a white stripe etc. You can use that info to figure out which connectors are which. Start with small and simple connections first. Some connectors will be referred to as either a jack, receptacle or plug. Don't get caught up on that. They are all connectors.