Wiring Diagram Feedback

Ryca

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey Folks,

I am just about to wire up this beast http://www.xs650.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39854 and am looking for some feedback on my diagram.

A bit of background: This is a 1977 XS650D. Batteryless, kick only. I have installed a HHB PMA system, and a Sparx Capacitor. I am running the stock points and coils. I plan for my lights to be hard wired.

This is my first time wiring a motorcycle... Or anything. I made this diagram after looking at a few dozen on here, any and all feedback is appreciated -- i really want to get the right so i dont blow some shit up.

Thanks !!

2lue1iq.jpg

Yes, the 20 amp fuse. There should NOT be any fuse between the cap and reg/rec. In your diagram if the 20 amp fuse blows the load of the cap on the reg/rec is removed, this lets the reg/rec go totally berserk. Pumping voltage spikes up to 20 volts through the system. These high voltage spikes burn up things like ignitions, blows bulbs.
Leo

Thanks for the help everyone -- im sorting this out as we speak.

Im close - and need a bit of knowledge on the SPARX capacitor // PMA wiring.
See following diagram :

155nh9j.jpg

Thanks for the help everyone -- im sorting this out as we speak.

Im close - and need a bit of knowledge on the SPARX capacitor // PMA wiring.
See following diagram :

155nh9j.jpg

This looks proper. Run the (+) to the switch, then to your fuse panel and break off into each circuit from there..

I don't run a fuse between the PMA and the Capacitor, never have.

Hugh

Thanks for all of the feedback.
Everything is running smoothly these days except:

I keep blowing head and taillight bulbs (but not fuses).

Any ideas?

Thanks again!

Thanks for all of the feedback.
Everything is running smoothly these days except:

I keep blowing head and taillight bulbs (but not fuses).

Any ideas?

Thanks again!