Wiring Help

Carter5450

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Ok guys, just went up to KS this last weekend and bought my first 650, actually I got two, a 72 that supposedly ran when parked and an 80 with no title thats just a parts bike. I know there are a TON of posts about wiring but most of them are a little over my head, I'm still working on reading the diagrams on here, but I'm new to the XS650 as well as using these forums.

The guy had a new wiring harness with the bike that was in a box with no part number and it doesn't appear to the right one. So what I'm looking for is the absolute most basic wiring I can do just to try and start the motor, and after that I'll do the wiring up the right way.

I really appreciate any help in advance, can't wait to get her on the road.

Welcome to the forum!!
Before you do anything to the bike, I'd strongly suggest you read this. A proper wake up drill is important so as to not make things worse.

We love pics. :D Put some picks of the bike up here and give us a little background on yourself so we get an idea of your experience level. People here are friendly and helpful. Knowing how much you know helps us help you... ;)

I'll have to work on getting some pics put up, I don't have that many of it right now since I just got it Saturday,

Like I said above I'm new to the XS650's but it has been a dream of mine to own one forever, I consider myself pretty handy with a wrench, I've been riding and working on bikes for the past 25 years, but almost exclusively on dirt bikes, so that is where i'm pretty fuzzy on the wiring, all of my other bikes are VERY simple on the wiring side eg; mag and coil (thats it lol)

I've been searching high and low on here looking at wiring diagrams, I just know my patients (or lack there of) is getting the best of me, I really just want to hear it bust off once, and then I'll calm down and actually get to studying and understanding the electrical on these