Woman with a 530 chain delimma..ha

JessicaRabbit1006

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
I have a 1972 XS650 that I am beginning to chop up, I just got a TC Bros Hardtail with a 3 inch stretch. I know my stock chain won't fit it is only 98 links, how do I find out how many links need to be added when buying a new chain? Its my first time ever doing this and this question may have been answered before but I wasn't finding any clear information. Any help you can give I'd appreciate :)

Welcome to the forum, JessicaRabbit1006. With a 5/8" pitch 530 chain, an additional 6" of chain is about 10 links. So, my guess would be 108 links. Most of us buy the chain in bulk lengths, like 110, 120, 130. Then cut to length. Until you know for sure, that's probably the better way to go. If you don't have a chainbreaker, then you can buy the appropriate bulk length, thread it on, count the number of links to remove, take it back to the shop and have them cut them off...

Hi Jessica and welcome,
an unmolested '72 is worth a lot more than a late model Special so listen to the Hooligan, eh?
And my mathbox agrees with 2many's; a 3" frame stretch needs 6" more chain.
That's 10 links of any 5-series chain.
But the '72's only got a 98 link chain instead of the later bike's 104 because the '72's swingarm is shorter.
Chop the frame and the swingarm is gone, right?
Most likely the 3" stretch hardtail will need 104 + 10 links.
Best you buy a 120 link chain package and try it on the sprockets after the bike is built to see how much needs to be cut off.

Exactly...I have two runnable 81 XS-650 Specials I'll trade you to keep you from hacking up a '72 XS-2!!

Hi Vince,
you offering Jessica a two for one trade? Sounds like a deal to me. Long way from Washington State to Milwaukee though.
[edit] there's a recent member from the far East wanting to buy a complete XS650 motor.
Jessica should note that you can buy a whole bunch of #530 chain for the price of that extra XS650 motor.