Won't be doing that again.

Downeaster

Everything in XS
Top Contributor
Reaction score
Haven't ridden with a group of motorcycles numbering more than 4 or 5 in at least 40 years.

A motorcycle club founded by and for firefighters (Red Knights) organized a Toys for Tots ride starting and ending at the firehouse next town over.

I was a volunteer firefighter for a lot of years and technically am still on the roles of the department. I haven't been for a decent ride all year, and TFT is a good cause.

Somewhere between 50 and 75 bikes showed up. 3/4ths jof them were Harleys or Harley clones. NOT ONE OF THOSE %%*King BIKES HAD A MUFFLER ON IT.

Did a 125 mile loop stuck in the middle of the pack of those 50 and 60 year old juvenile delinquents. Between the noise and fumes, I've got a headache that'll bring tears to your eyes.

And riding in a pack that large is like being on a slinky. Speed up. Slow down. On the gas. On the brakes. Run 70 to catch up. Poke along at 30 in a 55 cuz they're too bunched up. Try to keep a decent interval and stay in your stagger and some impatient moron passes you.

And, of course, being the only vertical twin in the pack, and one of only 3 UJM's didn't do a lot for the conversational opportunities.

I was NOT impressed, and my loner instinct has been thoroughly reinforced.

Edit to add: On the Good News side, I managed to keep a straight face when encountering a group of fat, 60--ish accountants in leather do rags and wearing "Sons of Armageddon MC" cuts. If any of those bozos met a real 1%-er they'd shit themselves.

hehehe... :)

exactly why I've always been a lone wolf myself. I have one or two 1%er friends, and we often laugh about the RUBs (Rich Urban Bikers)!

Man 125 mile loop stuck in the middle of the pack:yikes: I'm like you I don't like that much noise (I'm hard of hearing as it is lol) and those fumes, I couldn't take it:eek: You represent the XS well:thumbsup: