Wanted - xs650 for scrambler build

sean colleary

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
hi guys im looking for a early xs650 im just getting into thees bikes and i want to make a scrambler for all the awesome trails out here in CO. i actually race supermoto some speedway and mini moto out here in denver so im looking for something for just fun. im currently selling my 02 sv650 i would trade it for a stock xs or a project
https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/1951320001864508

Early XS units are get'n difficult to find and abuse wallets.. severely. Early XS units would not lend themselves well to off road'n.. limited suspension... excessive weight. They would be ok.. I think.. for traditional old English style cross country rides but serious trailing may be physically exhausting. I'v seen a few 650 motors stuff'd in dirt bike frames and they look'd capable. I'd suggest.. a KLR.. a friend just sent a couple weeks in Colo. and Wy... out in the sticks. Said the KLR was a excellent choice.

I think they are all old enough to qualify as vintage, the 74 up motors have much better (cheaper too) parts and tuning support and better longevity under hard use. Frames are heavier but considerably stiffer. Specials have less "classic" value (gggGary ducks rocks and vegetables) so can often be found for less dinero. Try wanted ads in your craigslist you'd be surprised what comes crawling out sometimes. PM weekendrider he sometimes knows of an orphan or two.

Early XS units are get'n difficult to find and abuse wallets.. severely. Early XS units would not lend themselves well to off road'n.. limited suspension... excessive weight. They would be ok.. I think.. for traditional old English style cross country rides but serious trailing may be physically exhausting. I'v seen a few 650 motors stuff'd in dirt bike frames and they look'd capable. I'd suggest.. a KLR.. a friend just sent a couple weeks in Colo. and Wy... out in the sticks. Said the KLR was a excellent choice.