xs650 reassembly

chicagobuild

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Folks I tore down my '81 xs650 to the frame and had a TC Bros hardtail installed.
Needless to say that was the easy part.
I'm looking for feedback on next steps after paint.
Seriously, I have no experience with this but do have the help of a community garage for any technical aspects of the reassembly.
Just trying to save some dough, I am plenty handy and have the garage and tools to do any of the easy aspects like putting engine back in place, wheels etc.

Any constructive feedback would be helpful.

Thanks,
Brian

Most builders assemble the bike, sort out the foot controls, rear brake, exhaust, sort out the electrics, give it a couple of rides to verify and inspect everything...........and then disassemble it for paint, powdercoat, polishing.......then final assembly with new wheel bearings and steering bearings.

What I left out was tires, chain and sprockets, front brake. fenders etc. Maybe splice together old chains and fit the rear fender at step one. Maybe do tires, new chain and sprockets, front brake and fender at final assembly.

Scott

Last edited:
image.jpeg