XS650D Ignition Timing Stuck

zoomoto

Blinker fluid low
Reaction score
B55E5E2D-690C-4B49-B43E-C376EC3236D6.jpeg
Hey fam,

What i thought was a lean fuel mixture on my far side cylinder turned out to be an interesting ignition timing issue.

Regardless of how I rotate and set my bottom points plate, the point of spark will not change from this general area (see picture).

This is my first time digging into my bike’s ignition system and feel like I have done everything correctly based on my Clymer Manual. I have even started the whole process over again at timing chain tension. No change.

I plan on going to electronic ignition over winter but really want to learn how to work on the points system.

Any ideas? Currently blanking.

I have minimal play on my ignition shaft, cleaned the lobe, cleaned the fiber pads, filed the points (still some minor contact cratering).

Thanks for continuing to be an awesome community!

Uh thats not the points plate....its charging rotor and stator. Up above under the cover above the spark plug at the end of the camshaft. Try there.

Uh thats not the points plate....its charging rotor and stator. Up above under the cover above the spark plug at the end of the camshaft. Try there.

Appreciate the bluntness, however, the picture is only to show at what point in the engine's travel it is sending spark to the plug regardless of how the points plate is adjusted. Make sense? its weird.

Even if you can't get the timing dialed in exactly, changes to the points plate position should still show a change to where it fires. Let me ask the obvious - you are testing with the timing light connected to the left cylinder plug wire, or if static timing, with the test lamp connected to the lower left cylinder points set, right? You have to think of this as two little separate ignition systems here, one for each cylinder. You have to set and test each one individually.