1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Hey Facebook people... We've created a group for XS650.com members to connect. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice

XS650SG Alternator wanted

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Dangermouse, Feb 13, 2020.

1. Hi all, newbie here, i bought and fell for a 79 xs650sg. sooo cool.
    Anyway, have problem with it charging.....have had all electrics tested and it turns out everything is kaput!!!
    I can get a rectifier and starter relay from yambits. However finding a new stator and alternator is hard. There is westcoast winding who refurbish but at £200 it is a bit much. So here I am asking if there is anybody out there who has a good working order complete alternator for sale at a reasonable price. If so please get in touch . thanks Cal 20190412_183348.jpg

madmax-im likes this.
  2. Team Junk

Team Junk XS650 Addict XS650.com Supporter Top Contributor

I would go through the threads on checking the charging system before throwing parts at it. Could be as simple as a set of brushes.

3. Had everything checked, replaced brushes, did the slap test (weak) then sent to motorcycle electrician , he tested everything and shown me , alternator kicking out 8.8 volts, rectifier is shot. tried earthing it and no difference at battery. etc.

4. Machine

Machine Race the wind Top Contributor

Where is, Markse by the sea ?

5. Team Junk

A quick check is to apply 12v to the brown wire going to the brushes and see if the charge voltage goes up.

Nice bike.

6. its a village on the north east coast of England. Just south of Middlesbrough , 25m north of Whitby

7. Thanks Team Junk, I am going round to the garage tomorrow night after work, will see what happens

8. Team Junk

Your year model is right on the cusp of the change over of the the charging system change to the ground controlled regulator. I would confirm which system you have. There are threads here on a DIY regulator that could be a good alternative. if it is the earlier system.