XS750-blowing the main fuse

meaganheinxs

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks,
Im rebuilding a 1977 XS750, a few weeks back it was incredibly close to starting, I thought maybe the battery I was using wasn't strong enough so I used hooked it up to a car battery.... since that little escapade every time I turn the key the main fuse blows. I have searched top to bottom and cannot find a short. Additionally, this only started happening after using the different battery. This leads me to believe that its the voltage regulator causing the issue. As the bike doesn't run I cannot test the regulator as described in the manual. Does anyone know if the regulator can be tested even if the bike doesn't run? Perhaps its not the regulator at all? I'm stumped

I have no knowledge of that wiring
But on a xs650 the power goes from ( not running )
battery to ignition , and to starter engine
And then further downstream in the wiring
to other fuses that are smaller. ( Not always existing on early models )
So if the main fuse blows the fault is in that part described above
( battery to ignition , and starter engine )
pre subsystem fuses
Otherwise the smaller downstream fuse will blow
In your case assumption the charging circuit.
If this does not help please come back preferably with a link to the wiring for exact model bike.
On XS 650 the first place to look is the rubber grommet going in to headlamp
If not there I would most likely disconnect the wires going to starter
But again please come back with the wiring.

I attached a picture of the wiring diagram i hope it’s clear enough. I’ve checked the headlight bucket a
7A4D2ED5-4CE1-46E8-9A97-A3FFAFEBD3BC.jpeg
nd it looks good. I’ll take a look at the starter, appreciate it!

You can see if the regulator is blowing the fuse just by disconnecting it. With it disconnected the regulator and rotor (downstream) are removed from the system.
Additionally, this only started happening after using the different battery.