Yet Another Hardtail Project

NoValidTitle

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Well I figured I would start a thread for the actual build.

I'm not aiming for anything fancy. Don't expect this to be a very unique build either. :laugh: This is my first time doing anything like this and I'm just going for a look I like and that look just so happens to be a very common look that has caused some controversy here recently haha. The good old TC Bros hardtail with a sporty tank look. It's a look I like. :bike:

Plans:
Pamco high power ignition
Internal throttle
21" spoked front rim
White walls front and back
Black 2 under springer front end
Sportster tank
Red Tail Leather seat
Making my own wiring harness from scratch
No front fender
Forward controls
frame, tank and rear fender will be flat black

That covers most of my planning thus far, there are lots of little things I will need to figure out along the way which should be fun.

She started out as a 79 Special with 20k miles. So far I've got the initial disassembly done and I took the reciprocating saw to the back end of the frame, I need to do some planning and figure out what little brackets and stuff on the front half can be hacked off. I might go talk to a welder in a few days about putting the tail on. In the mean time I have some serious cleanup to do with the engine. The spark plug hole on the left side of the head needs to be tapped. The motor seems to leak some oil down low so I have lots of cleaning to do.

I think that's it for now. Here is a flood of my current pictures that were in my old questions thread, most of them anyway.

4467437493_a569c51a42_b.jpg

4469053322_f1fb2b9658_b.jpg

4468277909_ebf67d0040_b.jpg

4474753053_05c494c304_b.jpg

4477904986_8459fe181b_b.jpg

4479928545_fba1ca782f_b.jpg

4479929087_92933c3525_b.jpg

4479929233_5c58991911_b.jpg

You should just buy my bike! You just described it to the T except I have a black la Rosa seat!