1976 XS advantage of new CDI?

wildyrne

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
This is my first project bike and I don't have any electronics experience so please bear with me if this is a stupid question but can someone explain to me why I want a CDI? I'm looking at the tcbros alternator kit for going batteryless but I see much more expensive kits. Is there some reason I wouldn't want to just get the alternator and a capacitor and keep it at that?

So what's wrong with your OEM ignition/charge systems that you're getting rid of them? Spending a lot of money on "upgraded" systems isn't always the best answer...

So what's wrong with your OEM ignition/charge systems that you're getting rid of them? Spending a lot of money on "upgraded" systems isn't always the best answer...

Nothing as far as I know. I basically just want to be running kickstart only with no battery. Whatever I can do at lowest cost to get that done is what I'd like to do.

Nothing as far as I know. I basically just want to be running kickstart only with no battery. Whatever I can do at lowest cost to get that done is what I'd like to do.
What year? Points or TCI?

CDI= Capacitive Discharge Ignition. This system sparks the plugs. It has nothing to do with charging. To the best of my knowledge, no one makes a CDI for the XS650
TCBros alternator kit is a PMA system
PMA= Permanent Magnet Alternator. If you want to delete the battery, yes you need one of these.

It's a 76 so I think points. I haven't picked it up yet. I was planning on getting it this weekend depending on weather but it runs ok as far as I know.