83 Seat question?

Yamaha Graveyard

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Yes another one. I'm a newb here so feel free to slap me around a little. So I bought this project a couple of weeks ago 83 xs650. The second thing on the list is the seat, I want to go back to the stock style seat it's an 83. I picked up a seat pan and hardware and that's when I figured out that there's a couple mounting brackets that appear to have been were hacked off the bike. So does anyone have pictures of what I'm missing so I can fab something or pick up a rear section from someone that did a hard tail? Pic's of front and rear attaching mechanisms would be greatly appreciated. I'm looking what the seat attaches to on the frame. Thank you

Attachments

• thumbnailxs4.jpg
    thumbnailxs4.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 117
  • thumbnailxs5.jpg
    thumbnailxs5.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 123
  • thumbnailxsp.jpg
    thumbnailxsp.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 118
  • thumbnailxs3.jpg
    thumbnailxs3.jpg
    92.8 KB · Views: 134
  • xs650.jpg
    xs650.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 126
  • thumbnailxs4.jpg
    thumbnailxs4.jpg
    85.3 KB · Views: 115
  • thumbnailxs5.jpg
    thumbnailxs5.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 114
  • thumbnailxsp.jpg
    thumbnailxsp.jpg
    99.1 KB · Views: 116
The '83 seat sucks in that you're pretty well stuck in the saddle. The side hinged '78, '79 and side hinged '80 Special seats are the apex in the Special's seat evolution as it allows some movement fore and aft, imho.
You could be ahead in the game to adapt one to your frame with two hinges and some sort of latch, aside from you having a liftoff seat in hand.......
You might get lucky finding some discarded latch mechanisms from a chop, though it could be a bear to reattach them and make it workable.
Other opinions may vary.