'83 XS650 Build by padge

padge

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm padge, located in the Canadian prairies.

I've been working on my bike more lately and figured I'd start a build thread. I bought the bike about 6 years ago as a fairly clean stock '83 heritage special, and have chipped away at turning it into a cafe/brat type build. I've added shorter bars, exhaust, 2-1 intake + carb, seat, etc so far as you can see in the photo.

Years ago I cleaned up the rear of the bike, bobbing the fender and adding new tail light + signals, and now I'm tackling the front end. I removed the gauge cluster, headlight, etc. and that progressed into me ripping the entire harness out lol. So to start with there will be a lot of re-wiring going on in this thread. As for front-end components, I have a new brake lever + master cylinder, stainless brake line, brake pads and mini gauges to install. I still need to decide on a headlight and signals for the front. Thinking maybe a 5-3/4" bottom-mount bates with some small round signals attached to the bottom triple clamp. I'll be bobbing the front fender as well.

The plan for the wiring is to start with a minimal DIY "chopper harness" for the charging and ignition systems. Once I get the bike running with that configuration, I'll add in the following: headlight, tail light, horn, signals, speedo lights, and maybe starter. I'll be building an electrical tray to mount under the seat.

So yeah, stay tuned for some newbie / budget-minded bike building!

Attached is a pic of the bike right before I ripped off all the front-end electrics (excuse the dirt).

EDIT: Added a before pic.

Attachments

• xs650-padge-before.jpg
    xs650-padge-before.jpg
    466.6 KB · Views: 106
  • xs650-padge-after.jpg
    xs650-padge-after.jpg
    507.1 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:
Thanks fellas!