Another jetting question : commando exhaust system

D Stroy

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi guys,
Thanks in advance for any help you offer, reading through many of the posts has already been very informative. I am new to riding motorcycles and also a new xs650 owner. I have a '79 special that is all stock except for a new Commando Exhaust system from Mikesxs (bike came without exhaust). A friend did me a big favor and cleaned the carbs for me as well as got it to the point that I could ride it. The jets were stock sizes (27.5 pilot, 135 main) but in order to get the bike to pull through the full throttle range, the needle clip had to be moved to the richest setting. This has allowed me to ride the bike, pass license tests, etc. The more I ride it though, the more I suspect the original lean condition isn't fully remedied. I also recognize that it is not ideal to be n either the richest or leanest needle setting. I will start with what I think are symptoms, feel free to say otherwise.

- Idling - bike starts right up with choke and when I take choke off I have to give it a little throttle to keep it running until the bike gets hot. (Though I figured this is pretty normal) After the motor is hot, if I leave it idling, it does ok for about 30 seconds but then after that the rpms start to drop and it will stall unless I give it gas. If I adjust the idle speed screw/throttle stop to where it stays running, once hot, each time I pull the clutch or come to a stop the rpms stay high at about 3000 rpm unless I turn the idle speed way down. So I basically can't idle without either giving it just a little gas or having it float at high revs.