Best Multimeter for working on bike

sleddog83

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I know this topic comes up periodically, so I hope I am not beating this to death. There was a recent post by Jim on another thread about the best multimeter to buy. I was asked that question recently as well and was somewhat stumped. I was wondering what meters people have and why they like them. For myself, the meter I like the most is the last one I used when I still worked for a living. A Tektronix Tx3.. a very good meter, expensive and also not made any more. We also used an assortment of HP and Flukes.. also good choices but a little out of the price range of most of the average home mechanic. I currently have a Simpson 270 and a Innova 3340a as well as a Tripplet 850 for the bench, not counting the Heathkits that I used to prop the door open. I wouldn't recommend the Innova. It is rugged enough, has all the features I need, is reasonably accurate but has the annoying habit of shutting off after 10 minutes, usually right when you are making a critical measurement. I was thinking of recommending the Tripplet mm350 to this friend and was wondering if anybody had any experience with this meter?

In the Tektronix brand, I would go for the DMM4050, if you want the best.

Easy to snap in a nice leather box strap to the frame, always ready to provide accurate measures.

Go for it.

DMM4050.png

A 12 volt test light is invaluable for troubleshooting. Those free multimeters from Harbor Freight will usually get the job done. Fluke meters are awesome, but I don't recommend a hobbyist spend that money unless you have more money than you know what to do with.

Used the Simpson back in my Air Force days. Still one of my all time favorites. Nowadays I just have the Fluke. Sorry, no recommendations.
I wish I still had a Simpson! I can't justify a Fluke, but I'm in the market for a multi-meter. I'm no longer in need of something professional.