Cam Timing Woes... Maybe?

GoldenEye

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Morning all!

I’ve been using the advice on this forum for the past 3 years while putting back together/building my ’73 that I bought in pieces, but I’m stuck now (have been for ~2 weeks) so I’m hoping someone has a word of advice and the patience to read this novel I seem to have written.

Bike:

’73 frame
’72 motor
’74-‘75 BS38 Carbs (4N8 needle, unlinked, choke on left side only) with floats set at 24mm and mix screws at ¾ turn, bench synced with sighting to a light and then thin strip of paper.
K&N pods with cut down stock headers that reach the foot pegs and have homebrewed baffles

New:
All gaskets and O-rings
Cam chain
Valve stem seals (valves were lapped before reassembly)
Wiring (strung it myself)
PMA conversion with Banshee rotor
JBM Industries carb mounts and diaphragms

Updates:
Pamco ignition, mechanical advance
Dual output coil from Mikes (17-6903 High Output)
Upped pilot jets from 45 to 47.5 (1 size and genuine jets from local dealer)
Upped mains from 127.5 to 132.5 (2 sizes and genuine jets from local dealer)

Engine specs:
Compression is 170/165 on the right/left respectively
Capacitors charge at 14.4 volts when the bike is running
Fuel is 93 octane running through an inline filter off a newer and freshly coated alien tank

Where I am stuck: