Electrically Handicapped Please Help, 1981 XS650 won't keep battery charged

Bruce Wayne

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Aloha Everyone, hope your Friday afternoon is going well!

I am just beginning my weekend wrenching and for any and all who care to read or help out this is what I've got so far :)

1981 XS650 Stock ignition/charging system.

Here's what I know...

-Bike will start and run great, when the battery is charged up. I can get about 50 miles on a charged battery before the bike will shut off due to low voltage in the battery. When it dies, sometimes a lucky kick start can limp me home if I keep the RPM's high. But the solenoid will just click otherwise if I try to start it with the ignition.

-This has happened twice in the last 2 weeks.

-The Battery will take a charge/maintain charge. It is a couple years old though.

-I have run some of Curly's tests and here are there results...

1. Slap test works, wrench sucks right in when the ignition switch is turned on.
2. Headlight gets brighter as the engine revs.
3. I saw no voltage change when I shorted the green wire to ground and revved the engine. It stayed constant.
4. The brown wire connecting to the positive brush showed very similar to the voltage at the battery with the ignition switch on. The battery read at 9.56 , and the voltage at the brown wire was 8.86.

Known Problems So Far:
1. I found that the screw holding in the brown wire was super loose when I took the cover off. I could move it with my finger...

I will run some more tests tomorrow morning but I wanted to post on here to get some thoughts from any who are kind enough to help out. Thanks for your support!

Attachments

• 20160502_161415.jpg
    20160502_161415.jpg
    142.3 KB · Views: 313
  • 20160513_164816.jpg
    20160513_164816.jpg
    214.8 KB · Views: 295
Well, doing voltage tests with a dead battery won't help much.