Engine Mounts

Bewarethemoon

XS650 Junkie
Top Contributor
XS650.com Supporter
Reaction score
So as some of you may have noticed I like a bit of R&D and I've been toying with designing engine mounts for my build for a couple of years now.

I think Hugh Ownings did a real nice job and there's not much to be improved upon, certainly not aesthetically, but I would still like to have a go at them myself.

Very recently I purchased a set of footrest mounts from Cognito Moto to go along with some Tarozzi rear sets I have. I went for the rubber bushing version because... well why not?

CognitoMotoMounts.jpgXS650Bushings.jpg

Can anybody see any obvious or not so obvious pitfalls of trying to incorporate a similar mounting point design into my engine mounts?

Daniel.

No comments or suggestions.... yet. Watching with interest.

View attachment 214796

I know twins are prone to excessive vibration and the XS650 more so than most so I wondered if this could potentially take the edge off a little?

I just thought I’d create a thread to open up a topic of conversation, bit of a think tank I suppose?

Daniel.

Not at all Daniel.
I have been wrestling with modifying the engine mounts on my punisher build. Much of the discussion in the Good Vibrations thread. Many great ideas and points given for consideration. My particular set up required me to modify my frame although my original intent had been to create the modifications without having to do that. The dampening that I settled on included the use of bushings similar to those you have posted. I will definitely be following your efforts with great interest.

Last edited:
If my memory serves me correctly, when the Norton Commando was designed, they thought that they had to mount the swing arm to the engine and gearbox, rather than the main frame.
This was to prevent drive chain tension from deforming the rubber mounts.
They reckoned about two tons of tension on the chain in first gear.