First project, 10 days

denis

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I apologize for any repetitive questions/concerns ahead of time.

Hello everyone. On March 11th I am looking to undertake a tremendous project, stripping my 79 xs with the intention of overhauling the entire bike from the ground up. As a college student with limited resources and an ambitious but basic sense of mechanics I am devoted to overcome and triumph over this objective. In other words, I have two weeks to complete this project and prove to my folks that I can be responsible and actually finish a project that I started. Before I completely extinguish all hope you, as the reader, initially had for me, I am going to change the topic and tell you a little about myself. I am a full-time student, twenty-two years of age attending a college in upstate New York. I am a graduate of Wyoming technical institute, also known as Wyotech, graduated with a degree in Automotive technology - sadly three years have passed and my retention ability is not as good as I'd hoped. So with my Clymers manual at hand I spend the entire length of last summer dicking around with my first motorcycle. I purchased it for 800 dollars and devoted many sleepless nights to have it run, but it persisted to sing the same old song and shit on me continuously; I would fix one thing just to find out that another thing went. My summer quickly came to an end and I had to return to school in late August leaving the beast behind. Nearly everyday I think about what needs to be done and how do I go about doing so, repetitively writing out the same old list of needed parts. That is my intro in a nutshell.

I am looking for any help, in any form, to make this project a reality.

This is what I intend on doing, feel free to jump in with your two cents.