First time tx650 750 cc bratstyle build

Rcmonkee

Rcmonkee
Reaction score
So this is my first time rebuilding a motorcycle. I've done some work on a 69' camaro, but not on a bike. So I bought a 1974 TX650 that was big bored to 750 cc of cragslist a couple of months back. It was in pretty good shape but need some work. So I've been working on this bike for a while now but I wanted to share what I have done so far. To start out I did the basic maintenance to a bike that is 40 years old. I cleaned the carbs, adjusted the valves and timing then I tuned the carbs. The guy before me cut the mufflers off so I ordered EMGO shorty mufflers and had to use a pipe reducer to attach them. I also got some black turn signals and a chrome speedo from Dime City. I had to make a mount for the front signals by making a steel rod fit around the reflector mount and threaded the other side for the turn signals. I also made a custom seat out of 16 gauge mild steel, shaped the foam and had it upholstered.

Attachments

• og.jpg
    og.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 205
  • IMAG0132.jpg
    IMAG0132.jpg
    107.8 KB · Views: 209
  • IMAG0194.jpg
    IMAG0194.jpg
    109.8 KB · Views: 213
So here is what it looks like now. I also forgot to mention the battery box I made for my Shorai small ass battery. I am planing on getting new rear shocks and doing a shorter rear finder and light. I've been looking at Hagon road shocks, but I was wondering how people like them. I would like to have Ohlins but I don't have that kind of money right now. So let me know what you think.

Attachments

35.7 KB · Views: 202
  • profileJPG.jpg
    profileJPG.jpg
    45.3 KB · Views: 188
  • DSC00309.JPG.jpg
    DSC00309.JPG.jpg
    164.9 KB · Views: 204
  • DSC00311.jpg
    DSC00311.jpg
    301.5 KB · Views: 163
Looks great, the rear fender I wouldn't shorten.It looks great the way it is. Classic taillight good tag location. Flows well with the seat. Sell it to me.