got my first xs650

Tristan805

XS650 Member
Reaction score
so! got myself a 1975 xs650
love this thing it looks amazing. wish i could say i did the work myself but i actually found it this way.
anyways, i got a problem! things happened in this exact order.
1. got bike
2. clutch was super stiff so decided to re-rout the clutch cable so that it had more slack.
3. left the key on and battery died.

so i decided, great, change battery and fix clutch cable at the same time,
added a trickle battery charger for the antigravity battery that it has, re-routed clutch cable.

heres where the problems started.

now, when i turn the key a poping sound happens the first time, sounds likes it comming from the carb??

bike will kick start (bike is kickstart only) but then dies if i throttle it.

idk where to start.... and by the way im new to all this, never been a mechanic or done anything of the sorts.
so im learning on this thing.

Attachments

• IMG_7731.JPG
    IMG_7731.JPG
    737.4 KB · Views: 108
  • IMG_7755.JPG
    IMG_7755.JPG
    655.1 KB · Views: 110
I am not sure if i am Certified to do it but Welcome

A 75 should have points ignition stock so please come back what you have
Some aftermarket ignitions don't like to have power on as in Key not turned off
They warn for that
However my first guess is that the battery needs more charging.
That is the first on CSF cheapest simplest first

The points would sit on the left side under the round cover at the top 12 o clock
If the battery charging don't do it please remove the 2 screws and take a photo

Have you tried to lubricate the wire.

1666730946139.png

Congrats on the find and welcome!