Head porting in Oregon

Bratxschop

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hey guys question about who to take my head to to have it ported. I'm doing a rephased crank from Hugh. I want to also do a 700 kit and port and polish. I'm not sure I trust myself to do a port and polish on my head. Plus I want to get guaranteed horsepower. Anyone know of someone in the Oregon area that is experienced and good at doing a head job on an xs?

I'm no expert, but I've been doing quite a bit of reading and research leading up to my own engine work. I believe it is pretty much accepted that the XS650 head does not respond well to the average port job. If you want guaranteed horsepower, my suggestion would be to go to the guys who've already figured out how to do it.

Purchase Craig Weeks' performance engine mod manual at www.650performance.com. Note the title of the first chapter. The Reality Of XS650 Cylinder Head Porting

Weeks works closely with Michael Morse at www.650central.com. Through him, you can purchase the CNC'd head Weeks talks about.

Note well, I am no expert. I'm just pointing out what I've found from my own research. Personally, I'm not looking for massive HP gains, just getting the best out of what MamaYama gave me. To that end, I'm going to do only a mild cleanup of the factory casting. Keyword: mild.

I'm no expert, but I've been doing quite a bit of reading and research leading up to my own engine work. I believe it is pretty much accepted that the XS650 head does not respond well to the average port job. If you want guaranteed horsepower, my suggestion would be to go to the guys who've already figured out how to do it.

Purchase Craig Weeks' performance engine mod manual at www.650performance.com. Note the title of the first chapter. The Reality Of XS650 Cylinder Head Porting

Weeks works closely with Michael Morse at www.650central.com. Through him, you can purchase the CNC'd head Weeks talks about.