Intake Manifold, again

mtbchickey

XS650 Member
Reaction score
hey all, I'm new to this whole world and decided to get a 1973 xs650 to learn.
Bought it secondhand and it worked, then went camping for a weekend and came back to it not turning over.
Found that the previous owner absolutely cranked down the ties on the intake manifold hose and the rubber was torn, so I got a replacement. Quick swap and it still sounds like something is gulping air in and it won't turn over. It did randomly once and then killed itself after a few seconds, long enough for the smell of an overly lean mixture to fill the surrounding air.
From internet research I definitely feel like it's an intake leak.. but I can't properly diagnose or fix it because the thing won't even turn over, and help please? Thanks
I have a video also but I don't know how to upload it

Super easy dummy check list if bike doesn’t start.

Got gas? If your new to old bikes, often it can look like there is gas in the tank but it’s not enough to get into the petcock. I’m sure we’ve all done it at some point.

clean gas??

Clean plugs?

you might have to upload your vid to YouTube, then embed it here.

Super easy dummy check list if bike doesn’t start.

Got gas? If your new to old bikes, often it can look like there is gas in the tank but it’s not enough to get into the petcock. I’m sure we’ve all done it at some point.

clean gas??

Clean plugs?

you might have to upload your vid to YouTube, then embed it here.

Threw some more gas in should be at least half full still no dice. Should I mention if I dump the throttle or go on it a little it fixes the sound?

Clean gas yes

Have to pull them out tomorrow

Ignition isue, Sounds like it's not getting spark. Maybe dead battery, do you have a battery charger, hook it up for a bit and give her a kik. Is it stock ignition? Check fusees. If not stock what ignition are you using?

Don't go camping.