Introducing myself, and thank you!

1980 Special Twin

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey fellas,
My first bike was a 1980 XS650 about 8 years ago. I took it on tour stock (I play violin in a punk/ metal/ classical appalachian style) around Asheville, New York and in between, and then bought a Honda Deauville (It's like the Pacific Coast in the USA) and toured all over Europe in this style.
I'm actually a violinist and music teacher. I don't have any mechanical expertise, I'm just a little reckless and have a DIY attitude. I converted an old Mercedes to run on vegetable oil one time, and did a pretty bad job of it. But when I started riding everyone told me that I would have to turn my own wrenches so I got comfortable with it.
My XS got dinged when a suburban driver pulled out in front of me and sent me skittering across the asphault. The bike and I were mostly fine (her SUV was totaled somehow) but the insurance money bought me a new bike an an excuse to customize the old one.
I started the build when the Covid lockdown started in 2020 and finished just in time for Glory Daze 2021. Do you know this motorcycle festival in Pittsburgh? There were a bunch of sweet XSs on display, but mine was just about the only one in the parking lot and got lots of attention. Truth be told it was running like crap, held together with wire and I had lowered the front so far that I couldn't trust the bike in a turn.
20210925_121552.jpg

But another couple weekends and it is now my runner/ ripper. Carbs aren't tuned right, some bolts need loctite, need to go 3 up on the jets instead of 2, haven't put on the sissy bar, needs some electrical upgrades, blah, blah, blah it runs so I'm running it!
I don't recall exactly where I got all my stuff, it's mostly pretty basic. I think the main customizations worthy of note are:
Ironhead King and Queen
handmade rear seat supports made from an old microphone stand