Lathe Toys

Jim

Beyond the edge is the unknown. Here be Dragons
Top Contributor
XS650.com Supporter
Reaction score
Let me start here by sayin' I'm a self taught "amateur" machinist. Those of you that do machinist work for a living have probably always done things like this and figured everyone did it this way. Not me.... I'm still learnin'...

So.... I was reading 2M's excellent thread about making an XS fuel gauge and this caught my eye....

GCFG-NeckAdapter03.jpg

A runout indicator (TIR) mounted on a quick change block. I doubt that most people even noticed it, but I had a holy crap moment.... All this time I've been dragging out my magnetic base TIR indicator and setting it up on the Atlas. It's not that big a deal but every time I need it for lathe work... I find it in the basement where I do my Lycoming engine work. And when I need it to check the crank on a Lycoming... I left the damn thing on the lathe in the garage.... absent minded and all that. So...

I scrounged around in one of the "boxes of stuff I rathole just in case...." and found this...

3.jpg

It's a runout gauge from a JT-8D fan disk fixture that fell into my pocket years ago...:rolleyes:

A bit of angle and 10 gauge sheet and I have a mount...

1.jpg

A little paint and mounted in a quick change block....

2.jpg

Installed the indicator...

4.jpg

And voila... a quick change runout indicator for the Atlas.

5.jpg

6.jpg

It's a simple thing... but then I'm a pretty simple person....
Now all I gotta do is save up for a 4 jaw chuck and I'll be just as "eccentric" as Steve. ;)

Last edited:
Yeah, I honestly couldn't tell you what brand my 4 jaw is. It was $35 on ebay. I know some "machinists" get down on the little atlas lathes, but they are pretty darn handy, and can do a whole bunch. There are times I wish I had something bigger than the atlas, but really if I need to do something that big I go in to work and just run it on the mill-turn.