~ Maestro's '77 XS650 ~

Maestro

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
I'm very new to motorcycles in general, and only recently acquainted with the XS650.

After playing exclusively with cars for the better part of my life, about a year ago I decided to finally allow myself to enter the world of bikes. I like old Japanese cars, so an old Japanese bike seemed like the logical place to begin. I don't like the sound of 4-cylinder bikes at all, so that helped to narrow the search down to twins.

I located a small shop which collaborated with me on a 6 month-long build of a '68 CB450. As with any project that starts with a basket-case, it took too long, was too expensive, and was fraught with frustrations. The bike was finally finished, and for all intents and purposes is pretty cool, but I just don't dig it... So, it's now for sale. :wink2:

Back before we began our project, I met a '73 TX650 with just over 3k original miles on her that sat by in that shop during the entire build. She had a set of Brit-style sausage mufflers on her, and sounded fantastic. Once we finished the CB450, I realized it was the Yamaha that I had wanted all along. The '73 was unobtainable, so I hopped on Craigslist and located my '77D just a short walk from my apartment, and within the span of a weekend, I organized the purchase of her.

I've had her for about a month now, and I absolutely love her!

ParkingLotXS.jpg