Newb on his second ride - Greetings

Do you prefer an original / stock or modded xs650?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Nuke

Born to be free. Break the chains
Reaction score
Hey everyone,
this is just a greeting post.

I only started riding 3-4ish years ago, but I bought my first bike early 2016 (which wasn't the best first experience one could have). I bought a 1983 KZ440, which wasn't stock it was poorly modded and needed lots of work, but because I was too excited and naive I was lead to believe otherwise and trusted his word. Anyway, I've made some mistakes, wish I did things more efficiently time/$$ wise, but I will say I've learned quite a bit along the way.

Haters can hate but I fell pretty hard for the Cafe Racer look at first, although I found out it wasn't recommended for new riders, similar to sportbikes (which im not into), but because i'm stubborn I stuck with it and I think we did a decent job making it into a beautiful sleek cafe. I will say that leaning forward kind of sucked for longer rides. I mostly ride inner city but enjoy the odd backroad/across city trips. This time I was thinking more of an upright riding position like a tracker/scrambler deal, but I have to bulk up my bikes fund before I do any heavy mods. I might just ride my new xs650 as is. It's mostly stock right now.

I never was the mechanically inclined type in my earlier years, but luckily I have met 2-3 motorbike enthusiasts and I credit them for showing me the ropes and guiding me. But the online biker communities are always great and insightful, which is why I joined this forum. In the relatively few years I've jumped into this scene /hobby I heard great things about the xs650 almost immediately. Before I bought my first bike a distant friend recommended I get the xs650 (he rides a chopped out hardtailed xs650).