Opening engine, what to do?

crashcourse

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
I've been riding my bike for the laat seven years without having to do any major repairs, but at my last oil change I noticed small chunks of plastic in the oil. So I figure its time to replace the cam chain guide. While I'm at it, I'm going to fix the leaking gaskets and the clutch pushrod seal, and check the sump filter. I was also considering lapping the valves, and I wondered if there is anything else I should do while I have the engine open?

I am looking for basic repairs and maintenance; I don't have the budget right now for any performance mods.

You usually replace the cam chain too. Also, valve guide seals. The originals are 30+ years old so it's foolish not to replace them while you're in there. You'll have the valves apart anyway for lapping. Rings may need replacing as well. Measure the end gaps but 9 times out of 10, they're too big which means new rings. All in all, a quickie topend job like this will cost you around $200, if you do all the work yourself.

5T is correct, it's cheap, nothing more likable than a fresh engine to run in and ride baby ride, depending on the wear in the jugs, you might end up 0.25 or 0.50 over size. There is great personal satisfaction in re building your top end, taking her for a first ride and breaking her in......

I do have a manual, and I have always done my own work. The engine only has about 20k miles - is it still likely that the cam chain and rings will need replacement?

Is that $200 for parts? What about tools? I imagine I'll need some, but should I spring for the specialized tools, or can I make do with home versions?

Dunno about the parts costing, tools, you will need a torque wrench, good set of metric tube sockets, openenders, ring spanners, circlip pliers and time to do the work