Rocker Cover - Broken Stud

650Burger

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
As I was happy and taking my freshly rebuilt bike for its first ride, I noticed an oil leak. Thinking the worst, I look and notice one of the pins on the rocker cover vibrated itself out!

20200225_192022.jpg

Looks like there's a little bit of the pin still in the hole:

20200225_192118.jpg

I took some measurements and the hole is 7mm deep.

I am hesitating between two ideas mentioned in previous threads (Here and Here) the leading one being using a helicoil (never used one before) and the other being to tap the hole to a M8 1.0 and then use a M8 to M6 pin.
Please let me know what method you think is superior and more long lasting (I'm resisting the urge to JB weld it and shmear ATV on there...)

Not to go all semantic... but it's a stud, not a pin. It's threaded in. ;)
Can't tell from the pics, are the threads still intact in the hole?

Sorry I'm doing my best!
No worries. I was an aircraft maintenance instructor for 15 yrs. Correcting students on terminology is kinda baked it... :rolleyes:
If the threads are gone, I'd use a helicoil and put the correct size stud back in it. Helicoils are a relatively easy and useful skill to pick up. Loctited in with red loctite, it'll be as strong as new.

Follow up; the meatball repair is going strong 8 years 8,000 miles and several valve adjusts later.
Full disclosure, those covers also have gggGary's o-rings, so no heavy handed nut cinching. ;)
I think a special "repair stud" here would have a market, the RH lower exhaust cover stud is the most likely to strip. It's got a short hole cuz it gets close to the exhaust port. The 1972 and later 4 hole cover on the left side avoids this tight area.
Stud: M6 with a M6.5 tapered self cutting inner thread, a special depth install/tightening nut, and a small tube of some sort of thread lock, would be the catzPJ's.

Last edited: