Rookie-XS650 Coil Question-Are they good?

Maine_dad

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
79 650 special. I followed the instructions on the forum and am still questioning my results. Are my coils good?

Measured with a Measureup etekcity meter. No battery hooked up.

Primary (two small wires on coils) both read 4.6 at meter setting of 200.

Secondary(i think-orange wire to end of spark plug wire-cap) measured at 20k setting on meter. Right was 13.27. Left was 13.4.

I did notice it seemed a bit finicky, possibly due to dirt/grime in wires. I can clean those up if those readings are good. I cant get a spark. Changed the ignition cables and spark plug covers/caps. Replaced fuse box. New positive wire and negative wire. New battery. Adjusted points. Bike has been sitting 30 years. As noted in my previous post i am a newbie so please treat me as such. If you start throwing out big engine words I may not understand! :) thank you!

Thanks!

79 650 special. I followed the instructions on the forum and am still questioning my results. Are my coils good?

Measured with a Measureup etekcity meter. No battery hooked up.

Primary (two small wires on coils) both read 4.6 at meter setting of 200.

Secondary(i think-orange wire to end of spark plug wire-cap) measured at 20k setting on meter. Right was 13.27. Left was 13.4.

I did notice it seemed a bit finicky, possibly due to dirt/grime in wires. I can clean those up if those readings are good. I cant get a spark. Changed the ignition cables and spark plug covers/caps. Replaced fuse box. New positive wire and negative wire. New battery. Adjusted points. Bike has been sitting 30 years. As noted in my previous post i am a newbie so please treat me as such. If you start throwing out big engine words I may not understand! :) thank you!

Thanks!
I saw another post where it said to put the meter at 200 and touch probes together. I do that and it reads 1.1.