Single cylinder start up

Theotherbrinks

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi to all this is my first time posting,got a problem and I’ve run out of ideas,I’ve got a 1983 XS650 Heritage with 16,700mls on it, bike starts on right side then comes in on both after 10 to 20 seconds, then runs fine .I’ve checked valve clearance, cam chain tension got a good spark, new battery,new high output coil, h/t leads and plug caps to match coil, tried both new standard plugs and Iridium ones, had the carbs in bits ultrasonically cleaned them new diaphragms even tried a new set of flat sides from Heidentuning (these do give it a bit more get up and go) also full exhaust as the std silencers were starting to rot inside, this is also where the coils, leads,caps and plugs came from, also ran a compression test both cylinders giving about 150 psi, I’ve run out of ideas any help on getting running right from startup would be of great help, had a XS650SE 40 odd years ago which was a points model,this one has the factory electronic ignition which I know zero about although it’s sparking well could this be the issue in some way? Many thanks

Last edited:
Hi Theotherbrinks, welcome to the forum. Don't have the answer to your problem but when I start my XS, especially if it's been sat for a while, it sometimes starts on one side then the second cylinder chips in after a wee while. I usually put this down to the propensity of modern fuel to go gummy as it evaporates.

So, while I was thinking about possible carb or fuel issues, the random thought came to mind, do you open both fuel taps? If you are in the habit of only opening one tap, the fuel supply might lag behind demand for a few seconds until both float bowls are filled up? Just a thought.

But somebody on here sure to get to the bottom of it.