Spoking.

toglhot

First class butcher.
Top Contributor
Reaction score
I ordered some front wheel stainless spokes from a local supplier, they arrived and so I re polished the rim and hub and laced the wheel together, centred it, trued it and torqued the spokes only to find there was 3mm of thread showing on each spoke. I removed a couple of spokes and compared them to the stock spokes and yep, the stainless spokes have a longer thread. I contacted the supplier and so received a number of abusive texts and emails saying I didn't know what I was doing. Both he and his 'professional' spoker insisting that visible thread on spokes is perfectly acceptable. He even sent a picture of a rear wheel his 'professional' spoker had laced showing visible thread. I've been spoking both bicycle and motorbike wheels since 1968, never have I come across this problem before. There are calculators to work out spoke lengths for a given size rim and hub and thread lengths are pretty standard. Each nipple is bored about 3mm to hide thread.

Fortunately, the local supplier didn't have any spokes for the rear wheel, so I ordered them from Heidens in The Netherlands. Funnily enough, despite coming all the way from The Netherlands they were the same price. So, I laced the rear wheel together, centred, trued and torqued the spokes and guess what - no thread showing. I took a picture and emailed it to the local supplier suggesting he change his supplier and his 'professional' spoker as clearly neither knew what they were doing. Unsurprisingly I never heard back from him, but he did remove my account and refuses to sell to me again. That absolutely broke my heart, where on earth am I supposed to get sub standard parts now?

Here's some pics showing the thread on the front wheel and the lack of visible thread on the rear. The bike looks great with polished stainless and aluminium wheels, but I do cringe whenever look at the front wheel.