Switching Seats ?

Backroader

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
OK I am sure this question has been asked before....as I still am not the owner of an XS, soon I hope.
What does it take to change out the seat off a 1978 Special to a D model seat ?
OK if this is a DUMB question be gentle, it's my first time.:doh:
I am asking, as I may have found a sweet heart...I don't really want a special, however if a seat swap is possible and I find some spoked wheels, it should be close to what I am looking for.
A kind gentle response would be appreciated :)

Last edited:
-the mounting points are different, the special lifts on and off-has a front clip it hooks into, a lock at the rear and sits on a raised support bracket at the rear

- the earlier models were hinged and the seat base had a flatter profile

- to swap you need to remove the special brackets and weld in the standard hinges

- then the side panel lines may not match the seat line - their mounting points dont fit the earlier side panels

- also the rear shocks are set a little more forward - get ones a little longer

- the differences arent great but they are there-a days work with a grinder sander welder and paint will sort it out

- although the special wheel is 16 in, the overall height is not so different to the standard, the tyre is wider though, which, from a performance point of view, isnt so optimal

Last edited:
Thanks guys, that answers an important question.... with the parts not being interchangeable, the bike would no longer be stock.(returned to stock)

I truly prefer the classic looks of the D model, however I have found a special with 3000KMs, all original except for tires, stored indoors and running.

Oh well time to toss a coin !!!!

Buy it if the price is right. Use it and keep looking for what you ultimately want. Chances are you can get your money out of it.

That's what I'd do but that is how I ended up with seven bikes in the garage.