Wheel bearing install - help!

Duck749

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
So this is my first time doing bearings, they came out hard but hubs looked good and bearings definitely shot ('78 Xs650 Special). Sent off the bare mag rims for powder coating and after reading/you tubing and planning I became ready to rebuild. My old parts were all cleaned and inspected and All Balls front/rear bearings ordered.

Bearings arrived and I decided to tackle front wheel first. Confirmed part numbers were correct and put bearings in freezer overnight. This morning I pulled out first bearing, aligned with hub and couple whacks fell right into place and bottomed out - great that was easy! Placed the wheel sensor parts in and installed oil seal. Flipped wheel over, grabbed next bearing and it dropped right into place.

Thought something was weird and let bearing come back to temp, which I can pull bearing in and out by hand. Removed the sleeve and then found the one installed on other side can move in/out. Measured the old bearings and found the All Balls are about .002" smaller diameter. Ok, seems like I could have received undersize bearings? However, went to rear wheel and after smaller bearing was in freezer for couple hours tried that, few taps and fell in place. What are the odds that I would have either two bad rims or 3 out of 4 bearings too small? Anyone experience similar issues like this in that bearings can be pulled in and out by hand?

That's a kludge fix, might be fine for a lawnmower bearing but not a motorcycle wheel.. Bearings should FIT, not slop around. Need to get to the bottom of this. If All Balls is shipping undersize bearings they need to correct their mistake and send the right parts.

I tend to agree with Gary on this one. Basically the equivalent of gluing them in place. Not a permanent fix.