Yamaha XS650 dying after kill the choke

1981special

XS650 Member
Reaction score

Hello all, a couple of months ago I got the bike running but whenever I turned off the choke it died. I began to take off the carburetor but noticed that there was no clamp on both of the fuel lines. I bought clamps and the problem was fixed, it idled with the choke off.

For the past 2 and a half months I have not been working on the bike and when I thought it was finally ready it died when I turned off the choke. In the video I just put on new fuel lines with clamps to ensure there is no leaks but the bike still died. Note- this time the choke was on as well. I’m very new to bikes but definitely think it’s a carb problem. Any guidance you guys can give on more possible issues?

This is not a stock setup ..so I might be out here. It sounds to me that the ignition is off.
Slightly to advanced.
Or synchronization
I would first try to increase the idle setting se what it does ..
And then check the timing.

Whenever a bike won't run without the enrichment circuit engaged I always go right to the pilots. That usually solves the problem
Update: inspected the bowls of the carbs and there was nothing but rusty gas. Then I checked the fuel tank and it was rusty too. Today I’m going to clean everything up and get a gas tank lining/ sealant and see if that helps at all. Also you were right, one of the pilots was real dirty.

Update: inspected the bowls of the carbs and there was nothing but rusty gas. Then I checked the fuel tank and it was rusty too. Today I’m going to clean everything up and get a gas tank lining/ sealant and see if that helps at all. Also you were right, one of the pilots was real dirty.
Just my .02: Just clean the tank with vinegar or some other de-rusting brew and forego the sealer for now. The sealers are problematic mostly. If you clean it up and keep full of fuel, it may be ok. I'd rather run in-line filters and change them out than deal with sealers

What jp said.