Yeah I'm an Old Rookie Running without carb manifold gaskets for 2 years

OLD ROOKIE

Go Slow and Wave at Your Neighbors.
XS650.com Supporter
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,
I just realized that I never had carb intake gaskets since I got my 81'. I didn't know they existed or were needed. So I ordered some.
What would the absence of gaskets cause in regards to how the bike runs ? I tried the carb cleaner spray test before and I did not detect any leaks.

I recently pulled the carbs and cleaned them and installed new air jets and went from 132.5 to 135 on the main and from 42.5 to 44 with the pilot.
Bike runs well but the idle is to high 1750 with the idle screw backed out. I am 3 turns out on the air jets. The PO had 132.5/42.5 with the pods and aftermarket shorter pipes, I ran it like that for 5k and it ran well then a couple weeks back it starting popping on the left pipe. The popping precipitated the re-jetting.

What now ? Thanks for everything. Old Rookie

Last edited:
If your manifolds weren't leaking before you installed gaskets, nothing will change after you install them. You'll be less likely to develop a leak. Air leaks there will make your engine run lean. 42.5 and 132.5 was the factory jetting. It may have been fine.

High idle sounds like a vacuum leak. Maybe check again. But I think 5T has it in post below.

Last edited:
If the idle won't drop any lower than 1750 with the idle speed adjustment screw backed all the way out so it no longer touches the cable arm, the carbs are probably out of sync. Backing that speed screw all the way out like that effectively shuts the carbs off and should stall the motor.

I forgot to say that I just replaced the OEM petcock with an aftermarket one. I took the tank off to clean it and took the petcock apart at the same time.