Noob here, 1972 xs650 not firing on right side

Rat650

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hello all, I recently convinced my wife to let me buy a 1972 xs650 :bike: I rode it for a couple weeks with no problems. Out for a ride one evening I noticed my clutch cable was hanging on by a thread so I had the fittings replaced on the cable and changed it out and adjusted it. It was a week later due to rain and being busy that I was able to try my replacement cable out. Rode for about five minutes, everything went great clutch worked fine. Then the bike started to bog and sputter and lose power. Got it home and found it was not firing on the right side. I pulled the plug, looked really black and I cleaned it up. Reinstalled the plug and the the right side was firing again, for about five minutes..:confused: Any help pointing me in the right direction would be very appropriated

Hi Grinder, I have tried switching the plugs from side to side and the problem stays on the right side. One thing I noticed that I thought was really weird is that if I pull the plug wire off of the plug and give it about an inch or so air gap it will fire..? It"s rough and smokes a bit but for some reason will fire with an air gap.

Sounds like it's time for a complete tune-up, maybe a carb cleaning too. Also, plug caps, plug wires, and coils can go bad. One of those items on the right side may be on it's way out. Condensers can crap out too. You might try swapping the condenser leads side to side to see if the problem follows.