Not starting after a few small maintenance jobs. I’m stumped.

Mjohnm

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer - I am completely new to XS650s and pretty new to working on bikes in depth.

It’s a 1980 Yamaha xs650 special -
Got this from someone that had it running and road it regularly (supposedly). He actually road it to my place. I was able to start it a few times initially with some difficulty. Pretty frequent kickbacks but figured it might be because it’s my first kickstart bike and I’m a pretty small guy. Only sat for about a week. The clutch was nearly impossible to pull in, and as soon as you put it into gear it would just stall. Managed to put it into 1st maybe once or twice while giving it a lot of gas but then even pulling the clutch in still had the bike inching forward slowly.

So everything I did after this -

- Replaced the clutch cable
- Got a new clutch release mechanism from Mikes XS.
- Drained the oil,
- Pulled the clutch plates apart, soaked them in oil for a bit and put everything back in (the plates and the basket didn’t look too worn actually but one seemed pretty stuck)
- new gaskets
- reset the kick because of course it came off while taking off the engine side cover.

Wouldn’t start at all. The lights are on, I can feel the kick engaging but nothing else happens.

After this I
- Charged the battery just in case
- replaced the fouled spark plugs with NGK BPR7ES Standard Sparks (previous ones looked pretty carbon fouled and maybe smelled a bit like petrol)
- drained the carbs in case they got flooded from me trying to start the thing for weeks

Still nothing. Everything feels the same when kicking it but it hasn’t kicked back yet after like 100 attempts. Not sure if that’s a sign of something or I’m just hopefully kicking it a little more proper.

Any advice at all would be much appreciated because at this point I’m kind of stumped. Thanks so much.

Fuse check would be first
Check the kill switch