Collecting XSJohn's Wisdom

cooltouch

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Well it's pretty clear to me that we all are saddened by John's passing, and there is virtually a universal feeling, it seems, that his loss is also a great loss to the XS650 community. I can think of no better way to honor John's legacy than by insuring that his wisdom is preserved. But it's gonna require input from those of us he helped. Thus, I propose that, not only do we search the archives here and those at 650 Rider (maybe the XS650 Garage as well?) and begin assembling an organized compendium of his advice, but that we also share our PMs from him as well.

I'm more than willing to help out in this regard, in terms of collecting his public comments, editing them and correcting grammar, etc. (I'm a published writer and editor with degrees in Linguistics, so I've got some experience in this regard) but sadly all the PMs I've had from him were at 650 Rider, and I suspect that those are no longer available.

I also have a pristine, uninstalled set of his needles that, perhaps someday we might want to consider having duplicated so that owners of bikes with BS34s can still have access to them. It probably would be a fairly easy chore for a CNC shop to knock them out in quantity. I could check around here in Houston, or if there's somebody here at the forum who has access to a CNC lathe, then we might could keep the reproductions in house.

It could very well be that, in time, XSJohn's tips will rival the Minton Mods in their popularity and usefulness.

So what do y'all think?

I understand. Perhaps I should have been more clear. When I mentioned sharing the PMs, I meant that we could share comments pertaining to improving our XS650s. Any other content should remain private.