1977D carb settings

griennehornette

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Howdy.

I just introduced myself in the Clubhouse. I'm trying to resurrect a mildly modified 77D I restored about 15 years ago. I was a newb (still am, really) and made mistakes. When I cleaned the carbs, I found that I had the wrong type of pilots installed; BS30/90 series, size 45. The mains were 132.5. And I had lowered the clip on the needles.

Don't remember what I was thinking, for all that. I've got pod filters, stock head pipes and some cheap harley mufflers with the baffles knocked out. Not major mods.

The pods were cheap Emgos. With them strangling the bike for air, and the ridiculously rich jetting, it's a wonder the bike actually ran. I did notice the plugs were rawther dark and wet...

So I've ordered and installed 27.5 VM22/210 pilots and 127.5 mains. Raised the needle clip to the very middle position. And bought larger pods from XS650Direct (which is just a couple of hours north of me). Don't have it all back together yet, and the wheels are at the shop getting new rubber, so I won't know for sure how well it works for a week or two.

But I thought I'd post, and see if any of the carb gurus cared to render opinion on whether I'm at least in the ballpark. Guess it's hard to say for sure. But I'm happy to receive any and all opinion!

Thanks in advance!

Yes, you sound like you're in the ball park, but those pod filters may give you tuning problems. The K&N pleated type pod doesn't work well on these CV carbs. If you must use pods, the foam type are better. Most of us use the UNI foam ones.

Your CV carbs rely on a smooth flow of air to operate the slide properly. The pleated pods give a turbulent flow. This can cause break-up, especially in the upper midrange, say from 4 to about 5.5K. Now, break-up is often a sign your jetting is off, too rich, but it could be the pod instead.